Lemon LawsCalifornia Lemon Law

California Lemon Law

Texas Lemon Law

Florida Lemon Law

Used Car Lemon Law

New York Lemon Law

North Carolina Lemon Law

Car Lemon Law

Wisconsin Lemon Law

Lemon Law Attorney

Lemon Law Lawyer

Automobile Lemon Law

Auto Lemon Law

Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act

Uniform Commercial Code

State Lemon Law

Site Map
Contact Us




State Lemon Law


Click here for indivdual State Lemon Laws

State Lemon Law

State Lemon Laws have some differences like coverage of motorcycles and used vehicles, but there are some basic guidelines that they do share.
1) The laws define what a lemon car is and require that the manufacturer, not the dealer, takes care of the defects. If a number of attempts have been made to repair a defect that significantly impairs the use, value or safety of a car and the car continues to have this defect, the car is than considered to be a "lemon".

2) Most statutes set up a warranty rights period of either 12 to 24 months or 12,000 to 24,000 miles. The defect(s) must occur sometime during this period.

3) Many of the state laws contain specific guidelines as to what constitutes a sufficient number of attempts to repair, and whether these attempts entitle the consumer to a refund or replacement. These are:

a. If the defect is a serious safety defect involving brakes and or steering, the manufacturer is granted one attempt to repair.

b. If there is a safety defect that is not considered a serious safety defect,the manufacturer has two attempts to repair.

c. For any other defect, the manufacturer is usually given three or four chances to repair the same defect.

d. If at any time the vehicle is in the shop for a cumulative total of 30 days in a one year period, with at least one of those days occurring the first 12,000 miles.

If any one of these of these guidelines can be satisfied, the consumer is usually given the right to require repurchase or replacement of his/her vehicle.

4) Most lemon laws do allow an offset for use of the vehicle by the consumer. Oftentimes, a reduction in the consumer's purchase price return is used in relation to the number of miles he/she had put on the car. One law spells out the reduction in refund for use as follows:

(miles at time of refund X purchase price)/100,000

The consumer can often argue that he/she should not be charged for miles that were put on the vehicle after the first try to fix the defect. For example, what if the consumer allows a dealer many attempts to repair a defect over a period of several thousand miles? Should the manufacturer be allowed to reduce his refund for the period of time he was not unsuccessful in fixing the defect? Our answer is no. The above formula should be used to compute the mileage at the time of the repair attempt. This can often make a difference of several hundred dollars to the consumer.

5) Only about one half of the lemon laws allow the consumer to recover attorney's fees in his/her action. Those states that do allow attorney's fees provide for a greater likelihood of success and representation in warranty disputes.

State Lemon Laws

 Arkansas Lemon Law
Arkansas Lemon Law summary and statute information.Vehicle purchased or leased for transportation of persons or property,

Arizona Lemon Law
Arizona Lemon Law summary and statute.Vehicles under 10,000 lbs. GVW, used to transport persons or property over highways,

Alaska Lemon Law
Alaska Lemon Law summary and statute.Vehicles intended primarily for use and operation on public highways that are self-propelled

Alabama Lemon Law
Alabama Lemon Law summary and statute.Vehicles intended primarily for use and operation on public highways

All contents copyright 2005-2006 lemon-law-explained.com. All rights reserved.